Product

What is your life product? Not about what came out physically from your body, but what is your ‘spiritual’ product?

Today’s first reading is taken from 1 Kings 10:1-10. The story is about Queen of Sheba testing King Solomon’s wisdom. However eventually the queen had seen Solomon’s wisdom, not only from his answers but also from his surroundings.

And when the queen of Sheba had seen all the wisdom of Solomon, the house that he had built, the food on his table, the seating of his servants, the service of his waiters and their apparel, his cupbearers, and his entryway by which he went up to the house of the Lord, there was no more spirit in her. (1 Kings 10:4-5).

And today’s Gospel is taken from Mark 7:14-23. The story is about Jesus told the people, “Hear Me, everyone, and understand: There is nothing that enters a man from outside which can defile him; but the things which come out of him, those are the things that defile a man.” (Mark 7:15).

The verse of the Gospel above is often being used as a justification for “modern” Christian who didn’t follow the law of Old Testament anymore especially about food. I am one of them. Hahaha. Yes, I ate pork, which is proscribed in the Old Testament (I don’t eat reptiles however 😅) But I’m not going to write about food today.

When I was a little cute girl (actually I think I’m still cute now haha), my mother took my sisters and I to a toy store near from our house. It is a “tradition” in our family that if we got good grades, our parents will bought us new toys. Then we went to the store and as an excited child, I picked the toy I wanted.

I didn’t remember the detail of the story, but suddenly I thought that I heard my oldest sister saying something irritating to me. I was a broken, wounded, angry, and overly emotional child at that time, so I immediately told my mother that my sister said something bad to me. If you haven’t know about my oldest sister, she has down syndrome. So it’s not possible to recheck it with my sister. However, my mom is the best mom ever. She rechecked it to my oldest sister, “Did you say something to your sister?” and my oldest sister shook her head. Then we continued shopping. But you know, somehow I heard the irritating voice of my sister again. I told my mom again and she did the same thing: asked my sister, and my sister one again shook her head. I convinced my mom that I heard that voice but she ignored me. Then I became so angry with my oldest sister. I hate her so much because I thought I was the victim here.

Now when I remember that moment, I feel really sorry to my sister. What had I done? Wherever the voice come from, I shouldn’t keep an anger and hatred to my sister. But that’s what happened years ago. That was my product.

Years later, when I was working in East Java, I joined a spiritual community, which is the Holy Trinity Community. During that time, I was often requested to give sharing and brief talk during the prayer meeting. Then some people told me that my talk is a inspiring them. It was amazing that from an angry and overly emotional child, God has transformed me into someone whose words can give spirit for others. (Of course it’s not an instant change, but it is definitely God’s work along my life).

This is what I mean by ‘spiritual’ product. It doesn’t have to be your words, but your words and actions are the easiest way to see your product.

We see at the first reading, how the queen of Sheba admitted Solomon’s wisdom. It’s when she saw Solomon’s surrounding. How his people work and live. She said, “Happy are your men and happy are these your servants, who stand continually before you and hear your wisdom! Blessed be the Lord your God, who delighted in you, setting you on the throne of Israel! Because the Lord has loved Israel forever, therefore He made you king, to do justice and righteousness.” (1 Kings 10:8-9).

The queen see how happy people around Solomon. And she knew, it is the product of Solomon’s wisdom. Have you ever felt just happy or calm when you are spending your time with someone? I think it may be caused by the ‘positive energy‘ comes out from that person.

Through today’s Gospel, Jesus reminded us that what comes out from us is one that matters.

And He said, “What comes out of a man, that defiles a man. For from within, out of the heart of men, proceed evil thoughts, adulteries, fornications, murders, thefts, covetousness, wickedness, deceit, lewdness, an evil eye, blasphemy, pride, foolishness. All these evil things come from within and defile a man.” (Mark 7:20-23)

It didn’t said that what comes into yourself is not important. No, it is important. Does our food not important? Of course it’s important. How about forbidden food? Well, you should do it as what you believe. I believe that there’s should be a good reason when you are prohibited to eat certain food. Just seek that cause if you want to convince your choice. (actually I also believe that there’s a good reason why pork is prohibited by in the Old Testament).

But once again, what is your product? Have you produced peace where you are, or did you produced war? Did you produce love or fear? Have you produced hope or did you bring despair?

My dear friends, it is the product of our life that people see. And please be aware that we are God’s product. Have we shown the quality of God’s product?

May God equipped us with more blessings, love, joy, peace, and wisdom so that people around us who see us, may see God’s product in us. Let everyone praise God from what they’ve seen in our life, just as Queen of Sheba praised Gid for Solomon’s wisdom. God bless you😊

Leave a comment