Unconditional Love

My love is warmer than a smile
My love gives to every needing child
If anyone should ask you who’s my true love
Tell them my love true
Is ever letting all their love come through

My love sees love with not a face
And lives to love through time and space
If all of everything about my love
Fits to the tune of you
Then you can say that you are my love too

Let my love shine through out the world
To every mountain top and steeple
Let it be felt by every soul
‘Til love’s all over
Let it reach out to every heart
To every disenfranchised people
‘Til it is present and no more
Is pain all over

Our love sees love’s the key to peace
We’ll pray ’til all world wars have ceased
Should you or anyone you know enough
To say they feel as we
Then let our universal song be free

Let our love shine through out the world
To every mountain top and steeple
Let it be felt by every soul
‘Til love’s all over

Say words of love to all we see
To rich and poor for love is equal
Let us lift up humanity
Spread love all over
Let all its forces join as one
So to rebuke all signs of evil
Through every valley, land and sea
Our love’s all people

 

Those are lyric of “My Love” song, popularized by Julio Iglesias and Stevie Wonder. If you see the lyric, it’s very beautiful song. How a love can change the world. Love can touch every human’s heart and bring the world in peace. This kind of love, however, is seldom to find recently. Most people think only love for couples or for his family and friends, whereas the true love is greater than those all.

Love is unlimited. We can have it as much as we want. We can give it as much as we can give, even more. How it’s possible? It’s because love is a blessings God’s given to us. Just as He gives is unconditionally, we should also give it no strings attached.

Mother Theresa, beautifully define love in one of her quotes, “The success of love is in the loving – it is not in the result of loving. “

Also Anthony de Mello, SJ who wrote, “Is it possible for the rose to say, “I will give my fragrance to the good people who smell me, but I will withhold it from the bad?” Or is it possible for the lamp to say, “I will give my light to the good people in this room, but I will withhold it from the evil people”? Or can a tree say, “I’ll give my shade to the good people who rest under me, but I will withhold it from the bad”? These are images of what love is about.

These persons–despite the fact that they’re spiritual figures–realized that love is unlimited. Love is unconditional.

As wrote in the Bible, we should love each other. We gives love to everyone, even to someone hate us. It’s hard though, to love someone who ever hurt us. It’s easier to hate them and ignore them, erase them from our life. But the fact is, even to hate, ignore, or even erase someone because of his/her mistake will spend our energy. On the other hand, to forgive someone and gives love will give us more energy.

I’ve experienced something, when someone I trust and close to me, broke my heart by doing something painful for me. It takes about four months to finally I can forgive him. But when I decide to forgive him, and let the past just as the past, my heart became lighter and a joyful feeling fills my heart. I see the world differently. Everything seems better and more beautiful than it was. Then I realized, just as a story I’ve read long time ago.

A teacher asked the student to bring a bag and when they feel someone hurt them, they should put a potato inside the bag. It’s happened for days. Then after few days, the students start to complain because the bag become weightier and the potatoes got rotten. Then the teacher said, it’s just like keeping hate inside our heart. The longer you keep it, the weightier your heart will be.

So, why don’t we start to spread love to everyone, to forgive anyone who hurt us, and forgive ourselves.

Love is unlimited, love is unconditionally. We can give it to anyone, anytime.

God bless us 🙂

Leave a Reply

